Only 32 of 50 access spots left. After that we close sign ups until the next group.Only 32 of 50 spots left, then sign ups closeGet access →

Guides / Grok Bot · Updated 23 October 2026

Grok Bot: xAI’s always-on agents

Grok Bot was the first of the 2026 wave of always-on agents: xAI opened an early beta on 11 August 2026, weeks before Meta Muse, OpenAI dots and Claude Duet. It is also the most developer-flavored of them, with a command line on its cloud computer and direct support for MCP servers.

What Grok Bot is

  • Persistent agents (“Bots”) that work through multi-step jobs without constant supervision and keep going after you close your own device.
  • A cloud computer with browser access, files and command-line tools. Bots sign into the web apps and tools you already use.
  • Connectors, plugins and MCP servers. xAI recommends a connector where one exists. Composio is available as a plugin with access to more than 1,000 apps.
  • Several Bots per account, which can split up work. Swarm runs are token-heavy.

One computer for all your Bots

Coverage of the launch page talks about Bots having “their own computer”, but xAI’s documentation says every Bot on your account shares one: files, browser sessions and command-line credentials included. xAI warns against treating separate Bots as a security boundary. In practice: a Bot you give a narrow job can still reach everything another Bot signed into.

Approvals

You can require approval for sending messages, publishing, deleting data, purchasing and changing production systems. Passwords, two-factor codes and CAPTCHAs stay with you when you take over the computer. Auto Review controls are available where supported.

Who can get it and what it costs

  • Access comes with SuperGrok Heavy, Cursor Ultra (reported at $200 a month) and eligible Cursor team plans such as Teams Premium, plus some trial access.
  • Enterprise access is rolling out through a waitlist.
  • Apps: macOS, Windows and iPhone at launch; Linux desktop, Android and iPad were not supported then.
  • xAI calls it a beta, and coverage notes no SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA or FedRAMP claim at launch.
  • Users report hitting weekly usage limits on heavy multi-Bot runs, with a task left stuck mid-run.
Bar chart of announced connector counts: Claude Duet 6,000+, OpenAI dots 4,000+, Grok Bot 1,000+ through the Composio plugin plus own MCP servers, Meta Muse 15 business connectors
Grok Bot’s count comes from one plugin; its real reach is whatever MCP servers and command-line tools you add.

Adding an MCP server to Grok Bot

Because Grok Bot takes MCP servers, a specialist server works there the same way it does in Claude or Cursor. For a remote HTTP server such as Next Everything you need two things: the endpoint https://mcp.nexteverything.io/mcp and the header Authorization: Bearer <your key> (the key is in your dashboard). We have not tested Grok Bot ourselves yet; the same values work in every client on our docs page, and if your Bot needs something different, tell us.

Grok Bot vs the others

Grok BotClaude DuetOpenAI dots
Launched11 Aug 2026, early beta21 Oct 2026, preview29 Sep 2026
EntryCursor Ultra or SuperGrok HeavyClaude Pro, $20ChatGPT Pro 100, $100
Command lineYesNot statedLinux computer; Codex tasks
Own MCP serverYesYes, custom connectorNot stated
Isolation between agentsNo, one shared computerOwn VMIsolated per user

All four side by side: Claude Duet vs Muse vs dots vs Grok Bot.

Related

Sources

About this guide

We build Next Everything, an MCP server that lets AI assistants and agents check a BOM against the JLCPCB/LCSC catalog and live Mouser and DigiKey prices, and order the parts you approve. Features, prices and availability here are as announced by each company and reported in the press on the date above. These products are in beta or preview and change often.

Next Everything is not affiliated with Anthropic, Meta, OpenAI, xAI, Hark or the other companies named here. Product names belong to their owners.